Rolling the Dice

Welp. I am counting on lady luck and taking my chances on a new job in Mali! I am now a Program Associate for myAgro an agricultural based non-profit that connects rural farmers with low cost farm inputs like fertilizer, training, and improved tools, to increase yields and household level income. If you want to know more about myAgro and the work they are doing in Mali and Senegal check out there website at www.myagro.org.

It has been an absolutely crazy four weeks preparing for this new adventure. It has been a whirlwind of emotion, packing, unpacking, re-packing, saying goodbye, trying to be present, and being overwhelmed with the amount of support from the people around me. It’s been absolutely amazing to see how deep my community runs and how truly loved I am by the people around me. (So to all you rock stars out there THANK YOU!!!)

This morning as I was saying a very teary goodbye to my parents I was hit by a new wave of fear and trepidation. That first step towards the customs line seemed to be the hardest and scariest step of my life. The what if questions that have been swirling around for weeks now seemed to weigh down on my knees and feet, cementing me to the floor. I will be miles away from home, the people I care about, and the life I know and what if something bad happens? What if this job is not what I think it is? What if I get there and I can’t do what is asked of me? What if I can’t integrate into the community? What if? What if? What if? But in the wise words of mama and papa Muise you can what if yourself to death, and I have worked so hard to get an opportunity like this that I need to go and try it out. So with everything I could muster I managed to get off my chair and walk towards the gate. And now I am waiting for my next flight to Paris and the wheels are all in motion again. Things don’t seem as heavy and the whirlwind is now filled with moments of fear, and nervous butterflies, and excitement and so many more things!

I really do not know what to expect from this new job. In some ways it seems to marry some of my deepest passions – agriculture, women’s empowerment, project management, travel, and so much more. In other ways it seems like the scariest thing I have ever tried to do. I am excited to make new friends, try new foods, avoid winter, make a difference, and discover a new part of the world. So if you want to learn more about what’s going on in Mali and in this crazy head of mine follow along or subscribe.

With all the love,

K.

Leave a Reply

