lost and found

Living abroad has never left me feeling more alive and more lost at the same time (most of the time). Every day there is a mix of emotions of feeling so inspired and driven to just feeling heavy.

The best way is to say it’s like if you’ve been waiting for your dream vacation and it finally arrives and you run towards the ocean. There waiting on the shore is a small boat and you cast yourself off – seemingly into the beautiful sunset. As you float you realize that the boat has no oars and no rudder; you are adrift sailing into the sunset. It’s beautiful and magical, but it’s unsettling and terrifying. You are single handily capable and incapable all at the same time.

I don’t think there has been a time in my life where I have learned more about who I am, the world around me, and the people in the world. I also don’t think there’s been a time in my life when I have felt more afraid, and adrift, and challenged in my entire life. It’s a wild life this life in Mali and one I am thrilled and terrified to be on.

Leave a Reply

